Skip to content

port in a storm or it’s not always a holly jolly season for all.

January 6, 2010

Psalm 13
How Long, O LORD?
To the choirmaster. A Psalm of David.
1 How long, O LORD? Will you forget me forever?
How long will you hide your face from me?
2How long must I take counsel in my soul
and have sorrow in my heart all the day?
How long shall my enemy be exalted over me?

3 Consider and answer me, O LORD my God;
light up my eyes, lest) I sleep the sleep of death,
4 lest my enemy say, “I have prevailed over him,”
lest my foes rejoice because I amshaken.

5But I have trusted in your steadfast love;
my heart shall rejoice in your salvation.
6I will sing to the LORD,
because he has dealt bountifully with me.

How often have I felt that God has totally forgotten me. I have cried out in anguish like David does in psalm 13. It is right and good to pour our and express our anguish to our God.. it’s ok to be angry, but we must confess our anger to God and not fall into judgement of him.

James 5:13

is anyone among you suffering, let him pray. Is anyone cheerful? Let him sing praise.

He alone can offer us true comfort.  As we all figure out eventually, the world only offers balms to pain.  Casual sex and lost weekends of drunken delights  may numb our pain for a season but no lasting relief is found.  Trust me, I know that a man can’t be that cure all either,  I have been left by a father and a husband.. sucks.. even though I have a fabulous adoptive father (and a great mommy 😉  ) and a brilliant husband now, even with these stalawart loves in my life, I know that only God’s love  is unfailing.

I have run hard away from God at different seasons of my life.  I mean hard away to the point that I was considering myself “spiritual” but not christian.  Spirituality, go figure, offered no comfort either, who knew 😉  I am thankful that God has never given up on me.  No matter how fast and hard I ran, He has always run faster.  I am the prodigal daughter that he has accepted with huge open and loving arms.  All forgiven and forgotten.

God will never leave me nor you.. I repeat HE WILL NEVER LEAVE YOU!!  This love is not based on us or our actions or even our own love and devotion to Him.  This amazing love is fully his own and infallible and indestructible.  God has taken eternal responsibility for you and I, and he has an idea just exactly what eternal really is.  God will get us through any suffering  even if he has to carry our faint body in his arms.  If we allow He will even use our suffering for His glory.  We might not understand it at the time, but in retrospect it becomes so clear.

In my own case, while I don’t believe that God caused my suffering, God has used my suffering to increase my reliance on Him for sustenance.  ( I was a cocky self righteous “oh I would never do that” kind of gal) He has also allowed my reliance on him to let people see Him shine through my life in different matters.  Whether it is a true friendship with someone who has hurt me in the past or the gift of being able to apologize when I have wronged someone, Christ shines through.  Not by my own power.. lordy no! Only through him and my continued reliance on Him is this possible.

I am thankful for this  gift of now pursuing God during all seasons of my life and the true comfort of his presence in my life.  He has sustained me through the death of my biological father, financial difficulties, the possibility of relocating, and just general uncertainties in this economy/world.  There is only one certainty in my life and this is that He will always be true to me.  Not in a cosmic bubble gum machine way. insert prayer and what I desire comes out.. but in a true loving father who is always there and lovingly carries me through circumstances and gives me what I need.  I love my abba God!

These are my reflections on a sermon by Jeff Purswell at Sovereign Grace Church of Joppa on Feb 1, 2009 as well as my own reflections on my personal experience with suffering.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. marie permalink
    January 7, 2010 8:33 am

    Excellent! Thanks for the reminder 🙂

    • January 7, 2010 8:59 am

      Thank you Marie. I was going over some of my old sermon notes and I was prompted to write this out and share. Hope it helps someone.

Leave a Reply

