Skip to content

Biggest Loser Perhaps.. 6 months down. :)

November 6, 2009

Can you believe that it has been just a bit over 6 months since my first post on my journey into self control and increased reliance on the grace of GOd?  Time flies when you are having fun. ha!

4/23 first morning after weigh in

Vital Statistics April 23, 2009:

5 foot 6 inches tall, 238.8 pounds ( which is 17 stone 0.8 lb or 108.3 kilos for my european readers)

october 28 six months later

who knew that I had a waistline! 😉

Vital Statistics November 2, 2009:

still 5 foot 6 inches tall.. not shrinking that way ha! 193.2 pounds (13stone 11.2 lb or 87.6 kilos) which is a total loss of 45.6 pounds (3 stone 3.6 pound or 20.7 kilos)

It’s been a surprising joy that I have been able to reach out to people through my weight loss.  A few people  have approached me for some advice on long term weight loss goals. So without further hoopla, here are my tips for weight watchers. in no particular order, just the order that i have thought on them!

1. eat a lot of vegatables / high fiber food.

2. limit junk and try to eat more filling food ie eggs/beans/apples/soups etc

3. drink drink drink fluid if possible water or low to zero calorie fluid. it’s amazing how quickly you can drink your calories up in a day. I have started even replacing my milk in my tea with lemon to cut back my points depnding on the day. but, as always, within reason. a GIRL still needs her calcium after all 😉

4. take a before picture for yourself (and periodically during this process) to keep motivated when you are feeling like you have hit a plateau. it’s amazing how motivating looking at where you have come from is!  I had hit that blech I hate diets mode last week.  My lovely husband made me take a picture last week and we compared the before and afters together.  It help spur me back on the wagon!

5. move it move it! if you are a couch potato, walk.. if you walk already.. walk faster etc (of course all within what your MD says is ok for yoU) that being said find an exercise regiment that is FUN for you. I honestly really enjoy wii fit and ea fit for wii..

6. figure out why you are turning to food for comfort. I have found that I do much better on my diet when I pray away my cravings.

7. don’t punish yourself if you fall off the wagon one day. Just because you mess up does not mean that you are not cut out for dieting or that you deserve to stay where you are. Forgive yourself, dust yourself off and start fresh in the morning.  Are you better than God that you can’t deem yourself forgiveable?

8. Stay accountable with a good friend.   Be honest with where you are even if you have had a bad week.

9. write down every bite that you eat and be honest. measure it out. little bites add up without you knowing it. even if you are not sure what the points are … it still helps to be aware of what you actual eat in a day.

10. Take a day off, not often but on important dates. IE. I took off on my date night w Ronan when we celebrated our anniversary and I will be taking off Christmas eve. WARNING: if you are taking a “day off” still account for your points to keep yourself aware and so that you don’t go to wild and crazy hehe. funny thing is that even though i “took last night off” on my date w Ronan I only went into my weekly points by 7.5.. before I would have totally blown it.  please keep these days off rare to keep them special other wise your scale won’t thank you 😉

11. stay humble and ask for help and prayer.

12. eat foods that you like. ie. i love cookies. rather than eat a lo cal oreo.. i just save up my 3 points a night (most nights) to have 2 double stuff oreos with my tea. It makes it seem like more lifestyle choices than that bad word D I E T! if you like a lower cal version .. fabulous, but if it makes you feel like you are missing out.. just do the portion control.

13.  I repeat, be humble and go to God and friends for comfort and prayer rather than that left over cheese cake that is beckoning you from the fridge. unless you have figured in a wee slice into your day’s points then by all means! have at it!! 🙂

14.  Remember that this is a life style change, not a quick fix.  You are relearning how to eat.  Don’t be too hard on yourself when you stumble.  You wouldn’t yell at your Kindergartener if he couldn’t sound out supercalifragilousyxpalidocious, would you? 😉

15.  Don’t compare or compete with others.  Every one is different and will lose at different rates.  This is a personal journey into better health.

16.  I must say again go to GOd and friends often during this process!

this has been my verse that I have been claiming over these past 6 months:

1 Corinthians 9: 24-27

24Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one receives the prize? So run that you may obtain it. 25Every athlete exercises self-control in all things. They do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable. 26So I do not run aimlessly; I do not box as one beating the air.27But I discipline my body and keep it under control,lest after preaching to others I myself should be disqualified.

Feel free to contact me if you have any other questions or want a prayer buddy!

With Love Karen

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Daryl permalink
    November 6, 2009 4:33 pm

    Thanks Karen, you are very inspiring! I’m so blessed to have watched your journey; I’m so proud of you ❤

    • January 6, 2010 11:30 am

      You are such a good mama encourager. I thank God daily for having you in my life! xo

  2. December 9, 2009 3:50 pm

    You look so great! And that’s awesome that you’re looking to make a lifestyle change and not just a quick fix. You’re an inspiration!

    • January 6, 2010 11:30 am

      I appreciate your encouragement. Without God I wouldn’t be able to do it. I had to get to the root of WHY WHY WHY i had gotten to that point. The root was I was turning to food as comfort rather than our abba God. Now that I have the relationship right, things are clicking. I am not saying it’s not a struggle, it is! Now I just am cognizant of what I am doing and i can bend a knee rather than the elbow 😉

  3. December 11, 2009 10:33 pm

    I just read through this whole post, and I am encouraged. I only have 5 lbs to lose (and, yes, I really do have 5 lbs to lose…actually 7 but I know I’m going to ruffle feathers by the fact that I want to lose weight at all)…anyway, this was helpful. Whether it’s 5, 50 or more or even weight maintenance in a culture that makes that so difficult, one needs support. Thanks.

    • January 6, 2010 11:28 am

      whether it is 5 lbs or 90 lbs, it is a burden to lose, isn’t it? I am glad that you are encouraged by my journey. Ha! Now you will have to deal with my journey on a bi weekly basis 🙂 maybe more “encouragement” than you wanted! see you tonight!!

Leave a Reply

