Skip to content

Fun Times with the Kiddos or how to keep sane on a rainy day.

June 18, 2009

No. the answer is not to lock the kids in their bedrooms while you blog away happily to your wee heart’s content! 😉  (not that I haven’t been tempted on more than one occasion! ha!)

I have compiled a list of activities that have staved off the rod more than once in my household.  Some days I am better at keeping them active then other days. Eh, it’s a process in growing not only as a Christian but also as a mum! This I have learned over the years, busy wee hands and wee feet keep this mama happy.

Side walk chalk in the rain.

0618091313

Unless you are the wicked witch of the west, you are not going to melt in the rain.  Personally, I tend to get a bit of cabin fever if I am indoors for too long.  This activity is one of my favorites just for the mental health benefits.  Malachy loves the fact that the rain makes the chalk like paint.  Plus you don’t have to worry about the chalk dust staying on their wee hands, they will wash their wee mitts in the puddles!

downsized_0618091317

Dancing and stomping in the rain

Goes along the same lines as the aforementioned rainy art 🙂  I have found my inner Gene Kelly on many occasions.  My 12 year old may raise an eyebrow, but even he still enjoys this deep down.

disclaimer : some 6 year old boys have been known to take this opportunity to make mud pies and place said mud pies on their noggin!  yes, we do  (thankfully) have an outside hose!

disclaimer : some 6 year old boys have been known to take this opportunity to make mud pies and place said mud pies on their noggin! yes, we do (thankfully) have an outside hose!

It goes without saying that a bathtime is needed before returning to indoor activities! 😉

Have a tea party.

tea party 0618091528

Honestly your older sons may not be as into this activity as your younger ones and daughters.  That being said they won’t turn down the treats.  This can be a labor intensive, but fun, activity of baking scones and cookies and making wee sandwiches.  If your kids are not at an age to appreciate the “process” an alternative is also a pack of chips a hoy or Oreo cookies with some proper tea.  If you have funny hats and boas for the little ones, all the better.  I have found that even without the extra accroutments, my kids have a lot of fun.

Take turns reading stories to one another.

depending on the age of your children, you may be doing the bulk of the reading.  the point is this helps instill a deep love of family and reading.  Helps when reading is associated with those “warm and fuzzy” feelings of childhood.

Go to your local library.

I am lucky enough to have a library that is probably about 2 minutes down the road if that.  There are often programs in place for the kids.  Even when there isn’t, it’s good to see different walls and breathe different air.  My littlest ones enjoy the kids area where they can play with each other or other kids after they have picked out their books. (you should see the stack the my 2 1/2 year old comes out with!!  Could she adore Max and Ruby anymore??)

max and ruby 0616091043a

max and ruby 06162009 d

At the end of the day rainy days are opportunities.  It’s any opportunity to build relationships with and memories for our children.  I would love love love to hear your ideas and experiences for rainy day, or every day, activities with your children. Please share with us all your fun ideas. 🙂

Psalm 118:24

24This is the day that the LORD has made;
let us rejoice and be glad in it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2009 5:31 pm

    Yay for rain and for rainy day activities!
    I love sidewalk chalk for kids! (Remember the scene in Mary Poppins when Bert, Mary, Janie and Michael jump into the painting?!) I love that creative imaginitive scene!
    I love the SINGING IN THE RAIN Dance Scene!
    I love the Rain Scene in SKYLARK!
    I love rain most always and Moms that aren’t afraid of letting their kids (and themselves) play, get soaked and messy in the rain! And I love the kid’s section of the libray any day and especially rainy days!
    Ideas for rainy days? Yes! Go outside and get wet and play or take a walk (preferably in a place that has become a stream!)
    Then go inside and get dry, cozy and comfy(PJs) after being out in it and snuggle with Mom and some books… or have a tea party! Most everything is refreshing after being rain drenched!

    • June 22, 2009 12:51 pm

      I love love love that scene. Very magical indeed.
      From one rain loving mama to another! 😉

  2. June 19, 2009 1:46 pm

    Great post. I tried going to the library and baking cookies yesterday (a rainy day). Unfortunately, the baking just made Owen scream more (because he wanted to have control of the spoon at all times) and they fell asleep on the way home from the library and although I successfully transferred them to bed, they only slept about 1/2 hour before waking up screaming. Lovely.

    I really think yesterday was the worst day of my life with kids aside from the time they both screamed all day due to gas when I ate too many blueberries the summer they were born.:) Really though, the problem wasn’t the rain as much as getting to bed late the night before and Owen was running a low grade fever for some strange reason.

    • June 22, 2009 12:50 pm

      I am sorry. I have certainly have had rainy days end up like that as well (more times than i care to remember and even some sunny days). It’s just a personal journey for me to be more fulfilled in my role as wife and mother and to do it joyfully for the sake of Christ and my family.

Leave a Reply

