Skip to content

He is more than my god, He is my abba.

June 11, 2009

Just thankful today that I do not have an impersonal relationship with my higher power.  When I am down and out I can call on God for a spiritual hug of sorts.  HE cares for me individually even in my mundane details, victories, and ordeals.  If He cares enough to make the weeds in my yard beautiful (well they are in my eyes hehe) how much more does he care for me?

04160817221

How wonderful it is that by his request I am to call him Abba (daddy).

Roman 8:12 – 17

12 So then, brothers,we are debtors, not to the flesh, to live according to the flesh. 13 For if you live according to the flesh you will die, but if by the Spirit you put to death the deeds of the body, you will live. 14 For all who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God. 15 For you did not receive the spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you have received the Spirit of adoption as sons, by whom we cry, “Abba! Father!” 16 The Spirit himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God, 17 and if children, then heirs—heirs of God and fellow heirs with Christ, provided we suffer with him in order that we may also be glorified with him.

Yes,  part of the package is that the world may despise me as they despised Christ.  Look at the trade off though:  I am counted as one of his children.  For me he suffered the ultimate humiliation and overcame death itself.

I am not wearing rose colored glasses.  I know that life can be hard just as it is.  Add to it suffering for the sake of standing up for what/who I know to be right .. yikes.  There are daily temptations to stay quiet instead of proclaiming the Gospel.  Face it, it is easier in the short term.  But, and this is a big but (no not the one that I am losing in WW), the long term rewards for staying true to my faith are innumerable.

This past year has been an incredible year of growth both spiritually and emotionally for my family.  We have been through the fire so to say. Without staying true to our faith I know that it  would not be possible for our family to have survived.  Maybe we would still be together ( i can even upgrade that to a probably because Ronan and I are stubborn 😉 )  but there would have been huge walls of resentment and mistrust between us all.  Physically together but emotionally we would have been on opposing sides of the Grand Canyon.   With God not only did we get through the fire but also came out stronger in our relationships with one another and with God. (for the record,there was not an issue of fidelity in our marriage. )

I trust that if I must suffer for my faith, or just plain suffer in my life, that God will be there.  I may not always understand suffering, and trust me I do not, but I do understand that He will never ever leave me alone in the dark.  No, he will not take away all of the pain.  Nor will he take away all of my suffering.  He will always be there to carry me through what this life brings.

It simply goes back to this: I am so thankful to have a god who I can call my abba.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2009 6:34 am

    What an encouraging post, Karen. Those last two paragraphs, in particular.

    • June 12, 2009 5:54 pm

      I am glad that you found this piece encouraging, Danielle. I was going to stop after the the first paragraph and scripture but felt compelled to dig deeper into myself and share.

  2. June 12, 2009 11:05 am

    I love the “spiritual hugs” we get from our Abba, Father!
    What an encouraging reminder to count our suffering as to glory and remember we are “heirs of God and fellow heirs with Christ.” In this way only are we able to trust God through suffering ~ even when we can’t understand it!
    Praise Him that you and your family have been proved and refined through some fire!
    May we keep trusting.
    Our family is in some firey suffering now. I’m not all that good at counting it all joy, but I know and trust Him as my Abba! Father!~

    • June 12, 2009 5:52 pm

      I live for the hugs from abba. I am sorry that you are going through some fiery times right now. I know that you will come out in the end, but it’s hard to see when you are in the midst of the flames. I will be praying for you my bloggy friend.

  3. June 12, 2009 5:34 pm

    Hi Karen! I clicked over to read comments and noticed the change! I love the grey, black and green! And then I wondered if I’d seen it before but just not “noticed”. Ya know what I mean? (I read for content, not design!)
    Anyway. Yes. I like the colors!
    I realize you didn’t ask for my opinion and my opinion doesn’t matter. I’d read no matter what the design or colors!

  4. June 12, 2009 5:35 pm

    White’s great too!

Leave a Reply

