Skip to content

Peace in motherhood? With God ALL things are possible.

May 31, 2009
the hooligans cira july 2008

the hooligans cira july 2008

Today I heard an excellent sermon on John 16:25-33 “the overcomer” by our Senior Pastor Jim Cannon.  It was an excellent sermon that I will be downloading to my ipod (go to tools for growth)  This sermon really squeezed my sponge (that one was for you ZO).  While it was not a sermon on biblical motherhood/womanhood, it really made me think about my attitude in motherhood.

I am going to, with prayer, get the notion out o my head that motherhood = anxiety.  I love my children and have a faith in God.  That being said I thought that it was the norm to have anxiety live in anxiety in regards to my children.

My head filled with frenetic worrisome questions.  Are my children getting the right nutrition? Are they growing to be nice and responsible people?  Will they be happy and successful in their lives (not talking about worldly success counted in money)?  and, of course, the big question: Am I raising them to be children of faith.  A faith and love for God, and for the sacrifice that He made at the cross, that they won’t desert as they grow older?

Ironically all of this energy exerted on being anxious regarding them  isn’t helping them to grow in the areas I am concerned about.  In fact having a tense, anxious mum is thwarting all of my good intentions.  Working myself into a tizzy about their future happiness and salvation isn’t helping?  Who knew that their salvation isn’t dependent on my works!!!

John 14:6 Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

Nowhere does it say that the way to God is dependent on me or my will!  That does not mean that I have a get out of jail free card regarding raising my children in a godly manner.  In fact the truth is  quite the opposite.

Proverbs 22:6

Train up a child in the way he should go;
even when he is old he will not depart from it.

Proverbs 29:15

15 The rod and reproof give wisdom,
but a child left to himself brings shame to his mother

Ephesians 6:4

Fathers, do not provoke your children to anger, but bring them up in the discipline and instruction of the Lord.

2 timothy 3:15

and how from childhood you have been acquainted with the sacred writings, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus.

The Biblical exhortations to parents regarding raising our children in a way that they abide in Him are abundant.  The tricky bit for me is to not only raise my children with faith but to have faith that God is doing his part in their lives as well!

Psalm 36:7
How precious is your steadfast love, O God!The children of mankind take refuge in the shadow of your wings.

Matthew 6:26-28

Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? 27And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life? 28And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin,

John 16:33

I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.”

Yes, I will have trials in this life specifically related to motherhood.  I need to intentionally pray through my anxieties.  Not to be scared of public opinion that I need such prayers.  Nor am I to fall for the lie that I don’t deserve prayer and help from God.  One of the quotes from Pastor Jim that stuck with me today is this “Jesus earned my prayers.  I am covered and clothed in the impunitive righteousness of Christ”  It is ok for me to pray for the big things, in fact I should.The good fabulous thing is this.  God may not always take away the tribulation but he will carry me through the tribulation. I will cast my fears on God, continually pray, and abide in His peace.

Romans 15:13

13May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope.

My peace is with MY GOD!

my hooligans July 2008

my hooligans July 2008

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2009 12:44 pm

    I love your declarations of the truths you want to be the place and way you abide in Him!
    We are IN Christ! The only place to “hang our hats”!
    He is Our Peace!

  2. June 3, 2009 12:45 pm

    You have precious “hooligans”!

    • June 3, 2009 2:37 pm

      thanks. I don’t know if you can make out what their matching shirts say. “the beatings will continue until morale improves.” hehe I thought it was a fitting picture for this post.

  3. June 6, 2009 7:27 pm

    Funny!!!

Leave a Reply

