Skip to content

Biggest Loser, perhaps. My journey into self control. #2

May 27, 2009

May 25 1st month ww

Has it been a month already?  Time flies when you are having fun. 😉

5th week’s vital statistics:  -3.4 lbs  current weight: 225  lbs, or 16.1 stones, or if you like 102.1 kgs. this is a total of 13.8 lbs down(1 stone or 6.3 kg)!

Psalm 34:10

The young lions suffer want and hunger;but those who seek the Lord lack no good thing.

ok ok, so maybe the hunger verse did give me an ironic chuckle, but the meaning remains.  I lack in no good thing.  The lord is with me and is my comfort in all things.

It is so easy to get caught up in the numbers game.  Fall into worry that this week I didn’t lose enough or why is this taking so long?  Thankfully God is so gracious that he supplies me with peace.  I might not know that it is there at first, but as soon as I call out to him it is there without question!

Philippians 4 : 4-7

4 Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, Rejoice. 5 Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; 6 do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. 7 And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Larry Kaplan permalink
    May 27, 2009 6:49 pm

    Great site. Very impressive content; I would suggest an addition. A few ads for T shirts or weight reduction aids with your personal recommendations could produce a little (very little) extra income.

    • May 28, 2009 9:16 am

      Thank you Daddy! I am glad that you like my blog 😉 . I will look into your suggestion. An interesting proposition indeed.

  2. laurie permalink
    May 27, 2009 7:09 pm

    you look fantastic! wow. i can’t believe how much you lost already, girlie!!! hope to see you in person soon. 🙂

    • May 28, 2009 9:17 am

      Thank you Laurie. You are one of my cheerleaders/prayer partners that have helped me along this journey.
      Once you can tear yourself away from your new niece, give me a call! 🙂

  3. May 27, 2009 7:59 pm

    I LOVE the verse from Psalm 34!! Seems perfect! So true that we lack no good thing!!
    (We just have weird ideas of what is “good”!)
    You’re lookin great Karen!
    Peace of Christ to you!

    • May 28, 2009 9:18 am

      and also with you!

      I am glad that my cooky sense of humor didn’t come off as disrespectful. Thank you for the compliment. While my comfort is derived in Christ, it doesn’t hurt to have some earthly encouragement as well!

  4. becky permalink
    May 28, 2009 8:59 am

    Karen, I looked back at your “before” picture and I can totally see a difference after a month! Way to go!

    • May 28, 2009 9:19 am

      Thanks Becky! I am glad that it’s not only my “wishful eyes” that sees the difference. 😉 Must say that I love my wii fit. I think that has really helped me add the “move it move it” to my total health plan in conjunction with weight watchers. Who knew, eat less exercise more works! 😉

Leave a Reply

