Skip to content

I knit! I’m a knitter!

May 26, 2009
Malachy's was so excited that i finished his Irish scarf that he wanted to wear it to school today!

Malachy's was so excited that i finished his Irish scarf that he wanted to wear it to school today!

Thanks to my lovely friend Kelly I have learned how to knit.  Of course you know that my first project would have something to do with Ireland!  Malachy went with me to pick out the yarn and, surprise, he wanted green, white, and gold!

I finished the scarf last night, crept into malachy’s room, and laid it in his arms so that he would have a surprise when he woke up. It worked!  This morning he bounded into my room, snuggling his scarf, exclaiming “you finished my scarf! you finished my scarf! Now you can make me mittens!”  Just in time for the summer, right wee boy? 😉

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2009 4:42 pm

    Aww, great job. He is sooooooo happy about it. Mittens! What a hoot. It would be funny to finish a pair in time for the 4th of July and take another picture of him saluting the American flag wearing his Irish mittens.

    I love the way you presnented those to him. Waking up to the wonder of a handmade scarf. That will be a memory of his for a long time to come.

    • May 28, 2009 9:21 am

      He he! I will have to talk to Kelly and see if she has a simple pattern for mittens. That would be AWESOME!

      I am hoping that this is one of his cherished childhood memories. I love that he won’t go to sleep without his scarf now. HE carries it around with him. He is so sweet. Love my little rascal!

  2. May 26, 2009 7:03 pm

    What a great way to surprise him! Isn’t knitting fun? I’m so glad you enjoy it. Love the new template, too.

    • May 28, 2009 9:23 am

      Thank you Danielle. It is soo much fun. I am thrilled to bits that my wee scarf (and how it was presented) is being cherished by my wee man!

  3. May 26, 2009 7:23 pm

    That’s so awesome! I can hardly take any credit for your own creative genius – all I did was steer you in the right direction – you’re the one who took off with rocket boots!

    • May 28, 2009 9:24 am

      you are too kind. it looks like i am going to have to hit you up for a simple mitten pattern! you will have to hold my hand through that one i am afraid! 😉

  4. May 26, 2009 7:28 pm

    Nice work Karen!
    How sweet that he was excited and appreciative!

    • May 28, 2009 9:25 am

      He is just like his father. An emotional man. I love them both! (as well as Malachy’s two sibs!)

Leave a Reply

