Skip to content

I desire to be a Mary with all of my Martha heart.

May 22, 2009

Luke 10:38- 42

38 Now as they went on their way, Jesus entered a village. And a woman named Martha welcomed him into her house. 39 And she had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet and listened to his teaching. 40 But Martha was distracted with much serving. And she went up to him and said, “Lord, do you not care that my sister has left me to serve alone? Tell her then to help me.” 41 But the Lord answered her, “Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things, 42 but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.”

Oh Lord, please create in me a heart for you.  So often I get caught up in the business of life, time schedules, and “what will people think”.  Help me to serve my family joyfully and, when appropriate, help me to sit at your feet with contentment.

How many times as a mom, wife, friend, human 😉 do we caught up in the day to day processes?  I know that I can caught up in what needs to be done and lose sight of those around me.  What needs to get done needs to get done and watch out if you have messed up my schedule.  I question the amount of times that I have had to go to my children and ask them for forgiveness and ask them to pray for their mommy.   70 x 70 times I am afraid.

Funny how these foibles of mine, my stumblings, keep on pointing me back to the cross.  I can tell you with certainty that I never deny my need for Jesus as my savior. I am thankful that my salvation is not based on my Martha’s heart, but in His indescribable love and sacrifice for me!!  I will rest in the peace of God (well, with continued prayer I shall!)

Numbers 6: 24-26

24 The Lord bless you and keep you;
25 the Lord make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you;
26 the Lord lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.


2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2009 11:37 am

    Amen! I want to be a Mary w/ all of my Martha heart too!
    (Now if everyone would just help out a little around here, I mitght have time to sit down at His feet!!!) Yet somehow I keep hanging on to the lovely idea that there are times in our lives that it’s not in the actual posture of sitting that we draw near… it’s a “sitting at His feet” in our hearts, minds, strength and souls in the everydayness and activity, amidst the needs around me as I work and serve and do and… on and on. Somehow it is a peace and rest in Christ through all this that is like sittinng at His feet. (Not sure that made sense! I have not mastered this and I do think actual intentional set-apart time is lovely,) but there is something about “practicing His Presence” along the way throughout our busy days that is to me much like Mary’s heart when she sat at His feet… I desire a sit and be still worshipful attitude even while I’m busy so that all things are unto Him! And I want to know when to stop, shut up and actually Sit down at His feet even when I’m “just too busy”!
    Thanks for the lovely thoughts!
    Peace of Christ to you!

  2. May 22, 2009 12:05 pm

    Agreed. There is nothing wrong in itself of being busy serving others. It is the heart attitude that I need to make sure I keep in check. That being said I have to admit that one of my life verses is Psalm 46:10 Be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!” (with the emphasis on BE STILL and know that I am God!)

Leave a Reply

