Skip to content

Biggest loser, perhaps. weekly update #4

May 21, 2009

Hello friends.  I have had another good week with God and Weight Watchers.  I have found myself going to God rather than snackie poos this week.  I’ve even made time for consistent exercise.

Our God has such a sense of humor.  Yesterday He placed in my path as my daily devotions a study on Self Control, remember yesterday was my weight watchers weigh in day!  Good timing Lord, good comic timing!

Daily Light on the Daily Path
May 20

Keep a close watch on yourself.

Every athlete exercises self-control in all things. They do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable. So I do not run aimlessly; I do not box as one beating the air. But I discipline my body and keep it under control, lest after preaching to others I myself should be disqualified.—Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the schemes of the devil. For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places.

And those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires. If we live by the Spirit, let us also walk by the Spirit.—For all who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God.—Practice these things, devote yourself to them, so that all may see your progress.

1 Tim. 4:16; 1 Cor. 9:25-27; Eph. 6:11, 12; Gal. 5:24, 25; Rom. 8:14; 1 Tim. 4:15 (Read full verses…)

I think that God, perhaps, was having a bit of a chuckle at me! 😉  But what a good reminder for me that it is not just weight control that calling on God is needed, but in ALL things.  I need to continually put on the armor of God to face the battles of the day.  Praise Him that he is personal and loving enough to remind me that He will never abandon me and will be with me in and for ALL things!

Now  for those all important statistics …

4th week’s vital statistics:  – 0.2 lbs  current weight: 228.4 lbs, or 16.3 stones, or if you like 103.6 kgs. this is a total of 10.4 lbs down(0.7 stone or 4.7 kg)!


I will admit that at first I pouted that I only lost 0.2 lbs this week.  I had worked so hard!  Then I realized that the number game is not the point.  I am feeling healthier, being more active, clothes are fitting better (or TOO LOOSE!) and most importantly I am resting in God.  I think that if I had a big loss I may have fallen into the trap of only being happy when I was successful in my own strength rather than relying on God even when I don’t have an ego boost of a good loss in a week.  Praise him for his wisdom and sovereignty in all things!  With him I will reach my health and spiritual goals.

2 corinthians 12:9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.


2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2009 7:49 pm

    I LOVE that God is drawing you nearer through weight watching and in realizing your need for Him in everything! He is a Sovereign God and YES He has a beautiful sense of humor that is never mean or hurtful, but always loving and honest! Praise Him!
    Praying for your continued “big picture” view of all things for your good and His glory!!

    • May 22, 2009 9:38 am

      You just had to say BIG picture, didn’t you! 😉 lol.

      I am so thankful that GOd is using this experience for the betterment of my relationship with Him. 🙂

Leave a Reply

