Skip to content

Biggest loser, perhaps. weekly update #3

May 13, 2009

God’s voice has been clearer to me now that I have been seeking his help with my control of my weight (or maybe it’s auditory hallucinations/delirium secondary to starvation??) 😉 just kidding!  The following verse is from the daily devotions that I have been doing.  Boy did it ever resonate with my soul today!

2 Corinthians 12:9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

His grace IS sufficient for me in my oh so evident weakness.  I have honestly have had such a sense of peace with this process thus far.  I am not saying that I haven’t passed the Arctic Circle and pouted wishing for a chocolate malt while I am sipping on my water, but God has been giving me grace through this process.  He has been faithful to meet me where I am and has given me gentle reminders to get on my knees in prayer and also to get up off the couch through different messengers.

One such messenger is my ever faithful and loving husband.  Several months ago, before I started WW, I had expressed an interest in purchasing the Wii fit for our system.  At the time we could not justify getting it, so it went on the back burner.  Well, lo and behold but what did my honey and kiddos get me for Mothers day but that very same wii fit.  Ronan said that he noticed that I was being faithful with Weight Watchers and making a change spiritually and physically so he wanted to help me with this process.  Brought tears to my eyes.  See men, it’s not always an expensive bottle of perfume or jewelry that makes us weak at the knees! Since Ronan honored me with this gift I, of course, had to try it out this week.  The first day I was on it for TWO HOURS and hadn’t noticed that time had passed. It is so much fun and I got a good  work out for this old temple of God!  I praise God for this new found energy and Joie de vivre!

3rd week’s vital statistics:  3.4 lbs  current weight: 228.6 lbs, or 16.3 stones, or if you like 103.7 kgs. this is a total of 10.2 lbs down(0.7 stone or 4.6 kg)!

Psalm 35:26-28

26Let them be put to shame and disappointed altogether
who rejoice at my calamity!
Let them be clothed with shame and dishonor
who magnify themselves against me!

27Let those who delight in my righteousness
shout for joy and be glad
and say evermore,
“Great is the LORD,
who delights in the welfare of his servant!”

28Then my tongue shall tell of your righteousness
and of your praise all the day long.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2009 2:59 pm

    Yay for God and you! Wow, you said no to an Arctic Circle chocolate malt. BE STILL MY HEArt! That’s no small victory. It’s so good being your acct’y podnuh.

    • May 13, 2009 3:11 pm

      I am really pleased as punch, 0 point punch that is 😉 , to be accountability podnuhs with you. Mind, body and soul sistah! 😉

  2. Daryl permalink
    May 13, 2009 3:03 pm

    I’m shouting for joy with you! And Great is the Lord! I’m so proud of you and you are my inspiration. 10..2 lbs that is fantastic:)

    • May 13, 2009 3:12 pm

      He is a fabulous Abba, isn’t He! Thank you for your continual encouragement.

  3. May 13, 2009 3:04 pm

    You go girl…I have an old blog site where I used to write after my sis passed but have not in over a year now. You may be inspiring me to get back to writing though!

    This week is my last week of school so I am thinking about joining WW at night…then when school ends I can visit with you on Wednesdays!

    Thanks for the nice devo to read! BRAVO!!!

    • May 13, 2009 3:13 pm

      Yay for the last week of school. I would encourage you to join WW at night, for now ;). I will look forward to seeing you on Wednesdays with Zo and myself in a few weeks.

  4. May 13, 2009 4:34 pm

    I love your new template. makes me want to go change mine. 🙂

    Way to go friendio! I am sooooo proud of you. You are such an example of humility and determination. Not a normal combo either. I love you.

    • May 14, 2009 10:19 am

      You know me, I like to redecorate. 😉

      I can’t tell you how much your words of encouragement help spur me on both spiritually and with this battle of the will! I am giving it all to God, but friends like you sure do help along this path. I love you too!!!

  5. May 13, 2009 11:54 pm

    Karen,
    I visited a beautiful friend in her home this evening who began WW a month or so ago.
    She showed me photos of what she looked like pre extra 45 pounds and told about readjusting her goals to be more reasonable. Her resolve and honesty was so refreshing, as is yours!
    Question: After the initial pouting past the Arctic Circle and sipping on cleansing water instead, aren’t you GLAD you resisted temptation?

    • May 14, 2009 10:11 am

      I am soooo glad that I resisted temptation. it is so easy to say “well, just this one time”… 10 big macs with xtra fries later … 😉

  6. May 14, 2009 8:42 am

    Oh! Oh! You HAVE to tell us all about the Wii Fit. My sister got one, but she hasn’t been using it. I’m hoping to hear how a piece of plastic and metal connected to a TV can get your heart rate up! Keep us posted, and God Bless!

    • May 14, 2009 10:16 am

      Wii fit is fabulous. It tricks you into doing step aerobics, jogging, boxing etc buy making it competitive and silly. I honestly lost track of time since I was having fun. Admittedly I knew that I was getting *ahem* a glow (because ladies don’t sweat like hogs) after boxing etc but I was having so much fun that I didn’t care. I just wanted to beat my kids or ronan’s scores or be the first to unlock a game! AHhh… competition within my little nuclear family. 🙂

  7. bethyoung permalink
    May 15, 2009 7:51 am

    Yay, you are doing so well and are an inspiration to me 🙂

    • May 18, 2009 5:27 am

      funny, that’s how I feel when I read YOUR spring cleaning series. 🙂 I think I need you to come over here and NEST over at my house. 😉

      Honestly, thank you for your encouragement.

Leave a Reply

