Skip to content

Biggest loser, perhaps. weekly update #2

May 7, 2009

Another week has gone by in my odyssey towards self control.  Actually I should say that this is my journey away from self reliance and towards dependence on God.

This week I have found that I am consciously making the choice to pray away feelings of inadequacy rather than attempting to feed them away.  While there is nothing intrinsically wrong with eating a piece of cake or a nice sandwich, after all God made these things for us to enjoy right (?), the problem is that I was turning to edible niceties rather than to my Father.

now for the bit we have all been waiting for (do I hear a distant drum roll or is that my toddler wreaking havoc on my house? 😉  )

2nd week’s vital statistics:  -1.8 lbs  current weight: 232 lbs, or 16.6 stones, or if you like 105.2 kgs. this is a total of 6.8 lbs down(0.5 stone or 3.1 kg)!

This week I keep on going back to the question of  where does my comfort lay.  My comfort does lay in the Father.  Not in my dress size or number of chins.  It certainly does not lay at the bottom of a (albeit delicious) trifle bowl.  My COMFORT is with my abba father, the Son Jesus Christ, and with the whisperings of the Holy Spirit.

2 Corinthians 1:2-4

2 Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ. 3 Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, 4 who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2009 1:29 pm

    Good girl, Karen. These are lessons I am learning as well, and it’s really cool to see God’s grace abounding to both of us!

    • May 7, 2009 5:40 pm

      I think this will be a life long learning process for me. 🙂 I am quite thankful for His grace!

  2. May 7, 2009 7:29 pm

    I love your outlook! Perseverance…one day at a time. 🙂

    • May 7, 2009 7:32 pm

      and my new wii fit shouldn’t hurt either! (i love my husband and kids!!!)

  3. May 8, 2009 7:46 am

    “pray away feelings of inadequacy rather than attempting to feed them away”
    Great plan and practice!
    Blessings!
    You are inspiring me.! What was THE thing that made you decide to just DO IT?
    (Maybe you already wrote it and I’ll need to re-read…)

    Laurie

Leave a Reply

