Skip to content

Rather than wallow, It’s time to do something about it.

April 22, 2009

“I feel so fat.  I was so thin when Ronan and I got together, now look at me. sigh.. Where has all of my energy gone?  Everything hurts.  I can’t possibly keep up with my kids.  Since it’s hopeless and I’m desperate pass me that donut, would ya?”

I wish I could say that was a inner dialogue that didn’t happen too often , but that would be a bit of a fib.  It can be so easy for me to wallow in that general (almost comfortable) malaise of dissatisfaction.   Inertia takes over and I will just sit, knit (thanks Kelly! 😉 ) , talk to friends, spend time on the computer, or just do general housework and mummy tasks.    Don’t get me wrong.  There is nothing wrong or ungodly about the above tasks.  It’s just that when they are used as an avoidance tool that there is a problem for me.  Too easy to pout and too hard to look above and actually do something about what I am pouting over.

Today I am going to start a change in my life.  I am joining my local weight watchers chapter and starting to get off my ever widening bum and start moving.  I don’t only want to dream about being  that mum that can run and play with her kids, I want to BE that mum.  With some perserverence, prayer, and accountability from my friends it won’t be a dream it will be an actuality.

Lest anyone think that this is not a spiritual quest, I beg to differ.  I am not looking towards vanity with this goal but with treating this body that God gave me with respect.  My primary vocation ordained by Him is motherhood.  To do this for His glory I need to be healthy and have the energy to instill His love in my children’s lives.   They need to know that this life is a precious gift that he has redeemed for us  and that we are to use  this life he has given us to the fullest.

1 Corinthians 6:19-20

19Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, 20 for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2009 12:27 pm

    I’m with ya sistah! While I can’t go to the mtgs right now, I am doing it from home b/c I have all the stuff. I’ll be praying for you:)

    • April 22, 2009 1:24 pm

      Hey there Marie. We can help each other stay accountable. I just know that for me I need the meetings to stay with the program. I appreciate the prayers.. hmmm chocolate. 😉

Leave a Reply

