Skip to content

A Conservative Independent Voter’s point of view on the upcoming inauguration

January 19, 2009
Only my husband would have bought me an obama shot glass along with the buttons.

Only my husband would have bought me an obama shot glass along with the buttons.

Who would have thought even 5 or 10 years ago that we would tonight be on the eve of the inauguration of our first African American president? What an exciting time we live in that this is not just a possibility but a reality. While I won’t lie and say that I voted for Mr. Obama, I am very excited for what he signifies. Barack Obama’s election is not just a matter of national politics but also one of international significance. We are taking toddler steps, I believe and hope, as a nation into a better world of tolerance and change.

As a mum and a citizen of this great nation I am thrilled at the thought that we are going towards a day when ambition is not hampered by ethnicity nor gender. It won’t just be a handful of Hillary Clinton, Oprah Wimphrey, Dr Ben Carson, and Barack Obama “types” that make it. This inauguration really brings home to this upcoming generation of both genders and all nationalities that “YES WE CAN”.

While I might not agree with our new president on every point politically, he has my upmost respect and I will honor him as my president. I am proud of him and our country. I do see in him a genuine want and will to do good for our country and the world at large. As a born again Christian I am praying that he leads us all properly and with respect into a more fully realized world citizenship. The question is not am I excited about his upcoming presidency but what is not to be excited about?

I am praying for you (soon to be) President Obama tonight that you do fulfill our hope and aspiration in your new role while maintaining your own true sense of self. God bless You President Obama and may God walk with you all the days of your life.

Luke 20: 21-25

21So they asked him, “Teacher, we know that you speak and teach rightly, and show no partiality, but truly teach the way of God. 22Is it lawful for us to give tribute to Caesar, or not?” 23But he perceived their craftiness, and said to them, 24“Show me a denarius. Whose likeness and inscription does it have?” They said, “Caesar’s.” 25He said to them, “Then render to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s, and to God the things that are God’s.”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2009 9:01 am

    Nicely said…couldn’t have said it better myself. May God bless our new President, now and always.

  2. January 20, 2009 9:02 am

    I heard Will Smith talk about the fact that Obama was now the President-Elect and he said, speaking of his African American race/culture, that now there “are no more excuses.” I thought that was interesting, coming from him. Basically, he was saying that there are no more excuses for not making something of yourself. You can’t blame it on others.

  3. zoanna permalink
    January 21, 2009 9:08 am

    Love this thoughtful post, Karen. Respectful and hopeful though you don’t agree with most of his principles (me neither).

    DAnielle, I hadn’t heard Will SMith’s comment, but I appreciate it. Nevertheless, where there’s failure or lack of trying, we humans will always find some excuse, won’t we?

  4. January 29, 2009 11:38 am

    Thank you Evenshine. I pray that God does just that for our president.

    Danielle, Very interesting quote from Will Smith. I am excited what this presidency means for the upcoming generation. I pray that God used Pres. Obama for good.

    Zoanna, what can i say except I respect the president even though I don’t respect all of his opinions / stances. That is the popcorn kernel on the gumline for me when people are disrespectful to authority. I am all for respectful disagreements and standing up for your causes. It is a matter of HOW you stand up for your beliefs. Why resort to name calling? I know you and are aligned on that matter.

    Hope all is well with y’all!

Leave a Reply

