Skip to content

Diving into God’s word. How does one start and make it more personal?

January 3, 2009

What an exciting year this has been for my family.  This time last year my husband was not yet a christian.  WOW! What a difference a year makes.  I am so thankful for the godly men at church that really reached out in friendship to my husband and presented the Gospel to him.

I have also experienced a renewal of faith this year.  Just a few months before Ronan became a Christian, I realized how far off the path I had come.  Backslidden would be an understatement for my spiritual status.  Thankfully no matter how hard and fast I ran away from God, He always ran faster and embraced this lost lamb!

One thing that I have struggled with is consistently getting myself into God’s word.  Don’t get me wrong, I have had my nose and heart in His Book over these many months … it’s consistency that has been the bugger of a thing for me!  I have been praying for a change of habit/heart for me and I truly believe that He answered my Prayers.

Yesterday morning I got up several hours before the kiddos.  With this quiet time I dusted off my ESV study Bible to “give it a whirl”.  What book should pop open to my wandering fingers and eyes but Malachi.  Now for most this might not mean anything, but to me it did.  You see, my middle child’s name is Malachy which is just the Irish equivalent of Malachi.  God spoke to me in that moment.  To have consistency I need to make it personal.  What is more personal than a study based on my children and husband?

That being said this year I am going to embark on just such a study!

My baby’s name is Molly which is a pet name for Mary.  My first thought was studying the story of Mary and Martha.  Luke 10: 38 -42  You would have thought that my being so engrained in the Catholic church that Jesus’ mum would have been first.. but i am not one to judge the holy spirit’s promptings!

As previously stated my middle child’s name is Malachy.. so a study on Malachi is a no brainer.

My eldest is Tommy.. so a study on Thomas’ experience after our Lord rose from the dead seems appropriate. John 20:26-28

As for the study related to my husband it should come as no surprise that Song of Solomon came to mind. 😉

Now I am not sure if God has something in particular in mind with the passages that he led me to, or if it is just to get me into the habit of truly delving into his word.  I am just excited that He gave me the gift of an enthusiasm for His word!  Please pray for me as I begin this personal journey into God’s voice!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2009 11:35 am

    this is a fun approach to God’s Word. I hope you’ll write about some of your discoveries. I’m so glad we spent some time together in MD. I pray Ronan will have to come to Cleveland soon 😉

  2. January 4, 2009 10:14 am

    God leads us to the passages He wants most to speak through.I hope your study is fruitful and meaningful- as delving into His word usually is! What a blessed year you’ve had! Hope this one is just as amazing!

  3. January 8, 2009 10:11 pm

    I saw your comment on Zoanna’s blog I so clicked! (No, I’ve never met Zoanna, but was led through blogosphere…no, I actually think I was led through answer to a simple prayer!)
    It was an excellent blessing to read of your husbands recent conversion and your own confession to “more than backsliding”. Praise the Lord for His amazing love and calling sinners to Himself!
    Your idea of studying according to your children’s namesakes is intriguing!

Trackbacks

  1. Beware of new leaves turning. « Just another Mum’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

