Skip to content

A love I neither deserve nor could ever earn.

November 9, 2008

jesus-shepherd
John 3:16 For God so loved the world that He gave his only begotten son that whosoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.

During worship a few weeks ago God brought to mind an incident at work that I was able to witness. This was the love of earthly parents for their severely disabled newborn. There were those at work who were saying, out of her parent’s earshot of course, that they would have counseled their daughters to abort due to the extremely poor prognosis. Instead these parents were expressing love and devotion to their child without hope for reward. They were truly in love with their daughter.

God told me that, just like the aforementioned parents, He loved me despite my crippling disfigurement – SIN. He loves me and has drawn me to Him. Unlike the love of an earthly parent, His love has washed me clean of the disability. Through His redeeming love and sacrifice of Jesus Christ on the cross I am whole in His sight. By His grace I am disfigured no more. I am covered in his overwhelming and undeserved love.

Romans 3: 23-25

23for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, 24 and are justified by his grace as a gift, through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus, 25whom God put forward as a propitiation by his blood, to be received by faith. This was to show God’s righteousness, because in his divine forbearance he had passed over former sins.

This is a love I neither deserve nor could ever earn. How great is our God?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. zoanna permalink
    November 10, 2008 10:43 am

    You’ve got me crying. Have you heard the song by Leland called “Carried to the Table”? It’s this post in musical form.

  2. November 11, 2008 7:38 pm

    I hadn’t before. I looked it up on You tube and was tearing up listening to it. Beautiful song.

Leave a Reply

