Skip to content

Just working on this Temple of God!

August 17, 2008

for decency's sake I am not stuffed into this for blog viewing "pleasure" lol

ok ladies! I did it! Last night, with a group of my friends, I did the full moon fun run/walk on the NCR trail. 7 miles with glowsticks and a full moon to light our way on the limestone gravel path. It was amazing, a bit creepy at times, but amazing. My good friend Gayle and I were able to take this time to really talk, share ideas on parenting christian children in a secular world, and just have a great time. Of course the highlight was going carb loading afterwards with everyone! errr, that probably gave me back all of the calories I burned off. sigh. Oh well. It is a start for me in my exercise makeover. I am sore and tired, didn’t get home until about 2am, but very happy this morning. Funny how working on God’s temple actually DOES make you feel better over all. I have a long way to go, but I am excited in this journey. I am looking forward to being able to tell you in October 2009 how I do in the half-marathon! I am taking baby steps at this point but i am looking to being a fleet footed runner!

1 Corinthians 9:22-27

22(AF) To the weak I became weak, that I might win the weak.(AG) I have become all things to all people, that(AH) by all means I might save some. 23I do it all for the sake of the gospel,(AI) that I may share with them in its blessings.

24Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one receives(AJ) the prize? So(AK) run that you may obtain it. 25Every(AL) athlete exercises self-control in all things. They do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we(AM) an imperishable. 26So I do not run aimlessly; I(AN) do not box as one(AO) beating the air. 27But I discipline my body and(AP) keep it under control,[b] lest after preaching to others(AQ) I myself should be(AR) disqualified.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2008 2:06 pm

    So cool! I’ve wanted to do something like this before! You certainly had an awesome full moon to walk by!

  2. August 17, 2008 2:13 pm

    I am sooooo proud of you – and inspired to run again. yay you!!!

  3. August 17, 2008 3:07 pm

    Danielle, it was an absolutely gorgeous full moon. I wish that I had a camera with me. 😦 oh well, the images are stored in my hard drive aka my wee little brain! hehe Now that I know that you are interested I will email you if any other “cool” runs are coming up.

    Thanks Laurie πŸ™‚ Like I said, I am baby stepping, but I will get there. πŸ™‚ you should “remotely” train with me. Hey, it worked with house work those many years ago. πŸ˜‰

  4. August 18, 2008 2:25 pm

    Woohoo! You go, girl! Your “moonwalk” sounded so cool. You didn’t moon anyone in the process, didya?:_

  5. August 18, 2008 2:59 pm

    oh no.. the M.J. music track is now running in my head! arrrgghh.. make it stop make it stop!!

    lol I didn’t moon anyone, but i did peel off an extra shirt (on the side of the track behind a tree with my friend guarding me) we were laughing so hard .. she kept on yelling. ‘there’s a naked lady over here!” oh so faithful are the wounds of a friend. lol

Leave a Reply

