Skip to content

Now if only i could cast those extra pounds on God as well.. hmmmmm

July 17, 2008

Time to be proactive. I am making a conscious effort to “get off the couch” engage with my children and husband ( I thank God for cheap above ground pool via craigslist!!)

molly dolly

molly dolly she is quite the ham! (some would say that this nut doesn't fall far from her mummy tree!!)

and engage with Him. I think there is a good Benjamin Franklin quote that applies here.. God helps those who help themselves 🙂 But in actuality my thoughts run more along the lines of this joke

There was a very religious man named Jim, who lived near a river. One day, the river rose over the banks and flooded the town, and Jim was forced to climb onto his porch roof. While sitting there, a man in a boat came along and told Jim to get in the boat with him.

Jim said, “No, that’s okay. God will take care of me.”

So, the man in the boat drove off.

The water rose higher, so Jim climbed onto his roof. At that time, another boat came along, and the person in that one told Jim to get in.

Jim replied, “No, that’s okay. God will take care of me.”

The person in the boat then left.

The water rose even more, and Jim climbed onto his chimney. A helicopter came along and lowered a ladder for him. The woman in the helicopter told Jim to climb up the ladder and get in.

Jim said, “That’s okay.”

The woman said, “Are you sure?”

Jim replied, “Yeah, I’m sure God will take care of me.”

Finally, the water rose too high and Jim drowned. Jim got to heaven and was face-to-face with God.

Jim said to God, “You told me that you would take care of me! What happened?”

God replied, “Well, I sent you two boats and a helicopter. What else did you want?”

But in all honesty, the following psalm reminds me that i want to have an interactive relationship with my God .. not just have God do to me. While I do cast my concerns upon Him .. He leaves it to me to ask for that help. I will continually seek my God!!

Psalm 34: 1-7 (esv version)

Taste and See That the LORD Is Good
[a] Of David, when he(A) changed his behavior before(B) Abimelech, so that he drove him out, and he went away.

1I will bless the LORD(C) at all times;
his praise shall continually be in my mouth.
2My soul(D) makes its boast in the LORD;
let the humble hear and(E) be glad.
3Oh,(F) magnify the LORD with me,
and let us exalt his name together!

4I(G) sought the LORD, and he answered me
and delivered me from all my fears.
5Those who look to him are(H) radiant,
and their faces shall never be ashamed.
6(I) This poor man cried, and the LORD heard him
and(J) saved him out of all his troubles.
7(K) The angel of the LORD(L) encamps
around those who fear him, and delivers them.

I am claiming my psalm from Him. I taste and see that His word is good for my heart and soul!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2008 8:52 pm

    Beautiful baby!

  2. July 18, 2008 12:04 pm

    I can’t begin to tell you how timely it was to read this passage at just the moment I did. Thank you for posting it. 🙂
    Heading to Hopkins in about an hour…

  3. zoanna permalink
    July 19, 2008 3:26 pm

    I’ve always loved that joke!

    Now get off your computer and get with God!

    love ya, girl.

Leave a Reply

