Skip to content

what a long strange trip it’s been

July 13, 2008

We have had several ups and downs over the past few weeks.

Ronan got so very close to getting into the state police academy this Summer.  I am proud of him for getting as close as he did, but he is going to have to reapply again next Summer.  That was a bit of a blow for Ronan and I, but we know that God has a plan in all of this.  (honestly though we aren’t seeing it at this point, but we have faith that there is one!!) 🙂  Goes back to trust and obey doesn’t it???

We took the advice of our friend and realtor and have taken our house off of the market.  She pointed out to us in this market it wouldn’t be fiscally responsible for us to make this move.  We would have ended up with a smaller property and a larger mortage payment.  We will trust in God and see what He intends for us in the future.  ON the upside through this process Ronan found out that our mortgage company had been overcharging us for months.  He has that situation rectified and our mortgage is at a much more comfortable level for us now.  God is so good.  If we hadn’t been getting our records in order to sell our home, we wouldn’t have caught the mortgage company’s accounting error.

Ronan and I have (with Tommy’s dad in regards to Tommy) decided on where to send the kids to school next year (finally).  It’s going to be the best for our family for the boys to go to our local public school.  This is one of the many areas that I praise God in, for by us not moving we are remaining in an excellent public school district that has a “gentler” atmosphere than some other public schools.  The boys are so excited to begin their new adventures in education.  Malachy will begin Kindergarten in the Fall and Tommy will begin *gasp* Middle School!  Still don’t feel old enough to have kids this old!!

Since the lads will not be going to a church school in the fall we as parents are going to be forced to be more proactive in their religious education.  I am excited to share my faith in a more structured way with my children.  The wonderful bonus with them being in the public school system is the gift of time!  They will get home earlier and I won’t have to spend the time (and money) on gas transporting them back and forth to school and home.   I plan on using this gift wisely with them and for them (and Ronan and Molly-Ann).  Please pray for me and my family that we stay on His path and that we (meaning I) don’t fritter away the extra time.

On a personal note, I have noticed that I have been so low over the past few weeks.  Funny how when my family and I have been more on track personally and together spiritually that depression decides to slink on in.  I am not talking about anything drastic, just the I don’t want to get off the couch and engage in life with my God, husband, and children blahs.  I put on a good face, but i have been hurting inside.

Psalm 46:1-3

1 God is our(C) refuge and strength,
a very(D) present[b] help in(E) trouble.
2Therefore we will not fear(F) though the earth gives way,
though the mountains be moved into(G) the heart of the sea,
3though(H) its waters roar and foam,
though the mountains tremble at its swelling.
Selah

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2008 7:32 pm

    Sorry to hear about your disappointment regarding the Police Academy and the house, but you’re right, God has a plan. That’s great you found out about the accounting error, though! A nice little surprise! And the gift of time is always a welcome one, isn’t it? That’s great you’ll have more of it this fall. And, I love those verses from Psalms.

  2. July 14, 2008 10:47 am

    Oh hon, I’m sorry about Ronan. 😦 I wish there was something I could do. But I agree, God doesn’t send us these types of issues unless there’s a reason. Chin up, mind high, and set your sights on the stars. You will prevail.

    I do understand, though. We’ve been going through a lot here, too. With sis pregnant, it’s been a difficult move. But we’re managing, and we’re all holding onto those family dinners, with our mealtime prayers. That’s become a really important thing for all of us, the little ones included. It’s a moment where all our differences are set aside, and we focus on the force that brought us together. 🙂

  3. July 16, 2008 11:54 am

    Karen,
    I’ve been wondering what has been going on with you…been praying for you. I’m sorry to hear of the struggles, but truly we are refined through them. I am young….but have struggled for the past 5 years in ministry with my husband….in some ways I am more refined. What an exciting time for education with your children. I was raised in a church school..and wonder if I would have been a stronger witness if I’d been in a public school….pros and cons to both I think.

    Scotland bound in 3.5 weeks.

Leave a Reply

