Skip to content

trust and obey

June 18, 2008

Over the past few months this has been the theme song of my life. Not consciously, but there none the less. While i have been struggling with my attitude during the home sale process I have been constantly reminded by my husband, friends, and not least of all scripture that I need to trust  God with my life and life choices. I happened upon the lyrics of this old hymn today and it just spoke to my heart.

Trust and Obey | John H. Sammis


  1. When we walk with the Lord in the light of His Word,
    What a glory He sheds on our way!
    While we do His good will, He abides with us still,
    And with all who will trust and obey.

    • Refrain:
      Trust and obey, for there’s no other way
      To be happy in Jesus, but to trust and obey.
  2. Not a shadow can rise, not a cloud in the skies,
    But His smile quickly drives it away;
    Not a doubt or a fear, not a sigh or a tear,
    Can abide while we trust and obey.
  3. Not a burden we bear, not a sorrow we share,
    But our toil He doth richly repay;
    Not a grief or a loss, not a frown or a cross,
    But is blessed if we trust and obey.
  4. But we never can prove the delights of His love
    Until all on the altar we lay;
    For the favor He shows, for the joy He bestows,
    Are for them who will trust and obey.
  5. Then in fellowship sweet we will sit at His feet,
    Or we’ll walk by His side in the way;
    What He says we will do, where He sends we will go;
    Never fear, only trust and obey

Psalm 84:11-12 (English Standard Version)

11 For the LORD God is a sun and shield;
the LORD bestows favor and honor.
No good thing does he withhold
from those who walk uprightly.
12 O LORD of hosts,
blessed is the one who trusts in you!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2008 4:06 pm

    One of my favorite hymns! Easier sung than done!

  2. June 18, 2008 4:09 pm

    You have really done well, Karen. You are so quick to get back on the path of trust and obedience. I look forward to seeing the end of the story regarding your home.

  3. June 18, 2008 4:26 pm

    ‘Tis the theme of my life lately, too. I could hear the tune in my head as I read the words. I love the 4th verse especially..it is so true that there is so much more joy when we are trusting and obeying.

  4. June 18, 2008 8:10 pm

    Is that not the theme of all our lives. Everyone of us, me especially, need to trust AND obey. I seem to be able to do one at a time BUT both at the same time. UGGG I am so in need of His grace and love!!!

  5. Jessica Renshaw permalink
    July 19, 2008 11:44 pm

    Hi, Karen,

    I was googling Trust and Obey and found your website and your words of appreciation about the hymn. My mother’s Great Uncle John wrote the words for this song. She adored him. He once sent her a postcard which I hope I can find among her things now that she is reunited with him in heaven! He went to heaven on her fourth birthday.

    Wishing you and your family and readers God’s very best!

    Jessica Shaver Renshaw

    P.S. He wasn’t the only writer or poet in the family. One ancestress wrote a syndicated column. My dad wrote plays, my mom wrote children’s books (Barbara Reynolds–not the one who translates from Italian!), one brother wrote 7 books of poems, the other wrote science fiction. I wrote (under my maiden and married names, Reynolds

  6. Jessica Renshaw permalink
    July 19, 2008 11:49 pm

    Oops, this got posted before I was through. I was saved in Tokyo as a college student, was, as far as I knew, the only Christian in our family ever. (My mom came to the Lord later that same year.) It was a thrill to find out John Sammis had not only been a believer but preached, written hymns and taught at Biola, a Christian college!

    Anyway, my Christian books are Gianna: Aborted and Lived to Tell About It (under Jessica Shaver) and two novels: Compelling Interests about abortion and New Every Morning about inner healing after incest (under Renshaw).

Leave a Reply

