Skip to content

Delight of my Father’s eye

May 29, 2008

Psalm 28

The LORD Is My Strength and My Shield
Of David.

1To you, O LORD, I call;
my rock, be not deaf to me,
lest, if you be silent to me,
I become like those who go down to the pit.
2 Hear the voice of my pleas for mercy,
when I cry to you for help,
when I lift up my hands]

3Do not drag me off with the wicked,
with the workers of evil,
who speak peace with their neighbors
while evil is in their hearts.
4 Give to them according to their work
and according to the evil of their deeds;
give to them according to the work of their hands;
render them their due reward.
5Because they do not regard the works of the LORD
or the work of his hands,
he will tear them down and build them up no more.

6Blessed be the LORD!
For he has heard the voice of my pleas for mercy.
7The LORD is my strength and( my shield;
in him my heart trusts, and I am helped;
my heart exults,
and with my song I give thanks to him.

8The LORD is the strength of his people;
he isthe saving refuge of his anointed.
9Oh, save your people and bless your heritage!
Be their shepherd and carry them forever

ESV

This passage is really speaking to me this evening. I am pleading for His mercy and I am so grateful that it has been given.  While I was at a friends house this afternoon I realized how much more joy she has (and she has justifiable reasons to not have joy by the world’s standards) than I.  Her faith and trust in our beautiful savior truly humbles me.

In the same vein recently I had to apologize to my husband.  The past few weeks have been hard for me, which translates hard for my family.  I have been snappy and living with a low level of depression.   Suppose I am a typical mom,  i like to know where my chicks are going to roost and this house selling poo is for the birds!! But God has been touching my heart through scripture and friends too make me realize how fleeting my troubles really are.

I am so grateful to have such a Loving Father in heaven who cares enough for me to set me straight.  I was talking to my friend Ally about this topic.  I stated “God loves me enough to discipline me.  It is a positive sign of his love.”  She replied “Yep .. a parent who doesn’t care, doesn’t discipline

Proverbs 3 (English Standard Version)

Proverbs 3:11-12

11 My son, do not despise the LORD’s discipline
or be weary of his reproof,
12for the LORD reproves him whom he loves,
as a father the son in whom he delights.

Apparently God finds me Rather Delightful!! 😉

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

