Skip to content

Spring ahead to God’s Grace

March 26, 2008

God works in mysterious ways! When I started this blog just a few months ago I was needing a church family and I was looking to be a better homemaker. WOW how quickly He responds to our needs. I am still in awe that not only did I get back in touch with my precious friend Laurie but also I am attending Chesapeake again with my family. The beautiful icing on this situation of course is that God touched my beautiful husband’s heart and he is now truly God’s son.

I can’t tell you how wonderful it has been to get to become involved in our care group and church life. You guys have been such an instrument of God in our life. Thank you all. This does not negate my feelings of friendship or gratefulness to my other lifelong friends. hehe it reminds me of the old brownie song “make new friends but keep the old, one is silver and the other is gold” Anyone else out there a brownie drop out? anyone, anyone at all.? err, just me??

I must admit that a part of me at first mourned for the years lost, not due to bitterness or anger but due to life “getting in the way”, in my relationship with Laurie. I also at first was thinking “if only I had been going here all along etc” My Father instructed me firmly yet gently (if that makes sense) If I had been going it would have been on my own.. I would have not been under my husband’s guidance. Also I would not have experienced and learned under the catholic system of liturgical worship, which I do treasure and know that has shaped me in a way that God intended. In His time I have been led back, under my husband’s guidance, and my family has and will profit. No, I don’t mean financially, but spiritually and emotionally God is blessing us. I can’t tell you how it blesses me when Ronan encourages me when I get disheartened with the process of selling our home etc. Ronan instructs me that I am to be grateful and that we are doing Our Father’s will so things will work out for His good!!

household management… ok so I have been convicted. Not a false guilt, but a pointing to how my attitude needs to be shaped and bent to His will. I realized that now that my house is on the market i have been Cheerfully cleaning up the home. Not a bother at all. I have even been enjoying it. He spoke to my heart and made me question why I had not been as cheerful when I was serving my husband and children. My primary vocation, of which I am grateful, is being a wife and mother. I am to be making a haven of grace for my family. How cool is it that God used the fact that we have to sell our house to provide the grace for me to be a cheerful homemaker??? He is an awesome God.

<< Psalm 4 >>
New American Standard Bible ©

Evening Prayer of Trust in God.For the choir director; on stringed instruments. A Psalm of David.1 Answer me when I call, O God of my righteousness!
You have relieved me in my distress;
Be gracious to me and hear my prayer.
2 O sons of men, how long will my honor become a reproach?
How long will you love what is worthless and aim at deception?

Selah.

3 But know that the LORD has set apart the godly man for Himself;
The LORD hears when I call to Him.
4 Tremble, and do not sin;
Meditate in your heart upon your bed, and be still.

Selah.

5 Offer the sacrifices of righteousness,
And trust in the LORD.
6 Many are saying, “Who will show us any good?”
Lift up the light of Your countenance upon us, O LORD!
7 You have put gladness in my heart,
More than when their grain and new wine abound.
8 In peace I will both lie down and sleep,
For You alone, O LORD, make me to dwell in safety.

Here is a bit of spring fun with my kids

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2008 7:07 am

    Great testimony, Karen! God is good!

  2. March 27, 2008 10:37 am

    God is so good. Plus His timing is perfect!!!!

Leave a Reply

