Skip to content

His amazing love

February 24, 2008
my three men
     My three men, walking side by side being led in Christ. This has been what I have been praying for, I don’t know how long. When I took this picture I knew that someday, I didn’t know when, my husband would be leading our sons and daughter not just on how to be a good person but also be showing them how to grow in Christ.

What an incredible time for my family. As you know Ronan went to the men’s retreat at our church this weekend. When he was leaving I had told our middle child, Malachy, that daddy was going to go for a few days but he would come back a better man. Apparently that statement annoyed him a bit. oops. But we will get back to that.

     When he got to the retreat center he was paired up with some wonderful godly men who he felt like he “clicked” with. He was really having fun. He enjoyed the teaching and just hanging out and talking with the men. While he was there he really opened up and told these men what was really on his heart. Usually he would have just said what he thought people wanted to hear, but this time it seemed too important to do this. God used this to draw him to Himself and showed him the Truth, that he was in need of a savior. He became emotional and the Love of God poured in and the importance of the cross was made evident to him. I am amazed to say that He accepted Jesus into his heart while there. Ronan was overcome with the love of God and the love of his new brothers in Christ. Then he realized that he was coming home a better man to lead this family, not by his own power but by the grace of our God.
     Wow! Isn’t God amazing. My husband has always been a great husband and father. I have been praying for him to become a true believer and I thought that the retreat would be a good step towards this goal. God is amazing and rather than letting this just be a step He drew him to Himself right then and there! I can’t put into words how it made me feel when I overheard Ronan telling my eldest child what had transpired in his heart while away. To hear my husband share the Gospel with my son is an uncomparable joy.
     God has awesome timing. He has recently drawn me into a renewal of my own faith and relationship with Him. I am overwhelmed with His love for myself and family. I am excited for what this will mean to us as a family.
1 John 4: 7-13 Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God; and everyone who loves is born of God and knows God. The one who does not love does not know God, for God is love. By this the love of God was manifested in us, that God has sent His only begotten Son into the world so that we might live through Him. In this is love, not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation for our sins.Beloved, if God so loved us, we also ought to love one another.No one has seen God at any time; if we love one another, God abides in us, and His love is perfected in us. By this we know that we abide in Him and He in us, because He has given us of His Spirit.
     For those of my friends or readers that aren’t Christians this is not meant as a story of judgement on you, just a tale of my family rejoicing. I don’t drop friends on the basis of religion. In this blog I will obviously talk about my family and our love of God but I welcome all visitors of any faith. Do I hope that my family and my own personal testimony touches someones heart and that God uses that to draw them to Him, of course!! I welcome anyone to contact me if they have some questions about my faith, I just ask that you please remain respectful of my families choice.
9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2008 10:58 pm

    Hey there… Congratulations to you all! 🙂 Though my own beliefs differ slightly from yours, the depth and comittment are the same, and I am glad that you are finding that, together, as a family. It’s an unparalelled joy to walk together in faith. It’s one of the few things I dislike about being a mixed faith family – there are times when I walk alone, and the others don’t come along, and don’t see the wonderful things I do.

    Give Ronan hugs from all of us, and B* sends her love and her congratulations, as well!

  2. February 24, 2008 11:31 pm

    Thanks Ally (and B) I will definitely dole out the hugs. Give your crowd big hugs from us as well. We appreciate your support in our faith journey. You are right, there is something very special about being able to share your faith with those you love.

    🙂

  3. February 25, 2008 8:13 am

    You know how excited I am for you. I am so happy you wrote this – It causes me to marvel afresh at the wonder of God’s amazing grace. Love you.

  4. February 25, 2008 11:19 am

    What a wonderful testimony! Josh told me the news when he got home. He spoke with your husband briefly. Congrads!

  5. February 25, 2008 3:38 pm

    These are the types of stories I never tire of hearing. How good our God is!

  6. February 25, 2008 3:43 pm

    Karen, this testimony brought me to tears! God is SO good.

  7. February 25, 2008 9:07 pm

    Thanks Laurie, Danielle, Leanne, and Libby for the congrats. My family is in a whirl.. Still can’t quite believe it. God has been so good to my family!

  8. February 26, 2008 12:37 pm

    Hey I sent you a private e-mail…I am so excited for you…Enjoy the journey as a family.
    Love
    Donna

  9. February 27, 2008 11:29 am

    I’m thrilled for you and am honored that you shared this with me. The angels are having a good time singing up in heaven at another name being written down in the Book of Life!!

    On another note, I have received your other email but as you know we have been busy ourselves so I’ll respond to your questions shortly. God bless and we rejoice with you!!

Leave a Reply

