Skip to content

Let’s keep it Spicy!!

February 23, 2008

hmmm lavender

So you may be asking yourself, “why does she have a picture of spice on here.. wait is that lavender?” Those who know me the best know that I LOVE food, both to eat and prepare. Sometimes my experiments are not so fabulous but overall they turn out pretty good.

I mentioned before that my sister works at McCormick spices. I had been browsing the recipes and found all of these delicious sounding recipes that involved lavender. Well of course I sent her (and myself) on the hunt for that elusive spice. Long story short, she found it and gave it to me yesterday. I can’t wait to start cooking with lavender. hmmm should I start with roasted chicken provencal with lavender creme brulee?? hmmmm….

Ok, now for the segue .. Since I love to cook, and my family enjoys my cooking, it has been suggested by Laurie that I start a “tasty Tuesday” series. Starting this Tuesday I am going to start publishing some of my tried and true recipes. If my boys will eat them I am sure that most of your kids will too. (and I don’t even try the sneaky Seinfeld tricks … please) About half of my recipes I plan as “convertible leftovers”. I don’t know about your family, but if I offer just plain left overs to my family they turn their noses up. With minimal planning I have avoided “the nose”

If there is a desire, I can also start a “date night with Hubby meals”. I am sure that I am not the only one that has “dates” after the kids are asleep and I have some very fun ideas.. both meals and ahem otherwise (nothing nasty no worries).. Let me know 😉 Even if it is an audience of one person beside me, I will do it. (sigh, i have no pride hehehe)

I look forward to sharing my foodie ideas with you.

Ta

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2008 12:41 pm

    Yay!!! I can’t wait for you to begin. I would lOOOOOOOve you to do the date night dinners and ideas as well.

  2. February 23, 2008 12:46 pm

    I saw this and had to comment – I work in the same vicinity as your sister, and when the wind blows just right, we can smell McCormick even though we’re several miles away. It’s wonderful. Never would have thought to consider lavender though – I’ll have to add that to my list when we’re trying to figure out the “spice of the day”!

    Nice to “meet” you, by the way – my husband is on the men’s retreat right now too (we’re Chesapeake folk :)).

  3. February 23, 2008 4:09 pm

    WOO HOO! Laurie, you gave me my audience of one, so I will start a date night dinner series as well 😉

    Leanne, nice to “meet” you as well. I am thinking of making the roast chicken provencal this Sunday, I will post here to let you know if it is a must do or don’t 😉 If you see me Sunday come over and say hi if you have a moment.

  4. February 24, 2008 6:55 pm

    YAY! I can’t wait to try recipes-and would love those date night recipes as well. Karen, seriously, come up ANY TIME. We could do lunch and then head to D&K.

  5. Shannon permalink
    February 25, 2008 7:56 pm

    All right woman, where’s the lavender recipe? I read all the way to the end of your voluminous entry and got NO payoff! :). More food!

  6. February 25, 2008 8:01 pm

    shannon. you goof ball, click the links.. there is one in the article.. and the lavender ones you just click the spice bottle.. hehe I love you Shannon! ❤

Leave a Reply

