Skip to content

Thank you God for giving me people who I miss.

February 21, 2008

With my husband away now at the men’s retreat I realized how much I really do miss the booger when he is away. How blessed am I that I have, or had, people in my life that are worthy of being missed? My life is full of friends and family who I love and love me in return.

Those of you who I see all of the time.. please know that you are loved and appreciated ๐Ÿ™‚ You are a part of what makes my everyday life special.

People I am blessed to miss in no particular order but who popped in my mind first ๐Ÿ™‚

Ronan: Honestly you won’t be away long enough to be really missed but I enjoy being around you. when you are away I realize more what a Godly husband and father you are and growing to be. I love you. It is good for us to have times to grow with Godly friends as well as with each other. Enjoy your time away from us. I know you will be refreshed and inspired.

Tommy: while i do get to be with you my wee bugger most of the week, I do miss you when you are with your dad. It is so important that you spend time with him and have a real relationship with your father. I am grateful that your dad is such an important part of your life, but i still miss you when you are gone. Stinker you are teaching me to take things in stride. My hope as your mum is that you will truly see and appreciate the amazing love of God and that you truly follow Him the rest of your days. That is the greatest gift that you will ever receive.. yes even greater than webkinz!! Tommy you are loved. I didn’t know how much my mother loved me until I had you. You will understand what I mean by that when your future wife gives you a warm bundle in a blanket for the first time.

Laurie: What can I say. My timing stinks!!! You would always pop into my mind at the worst times and then I would get busy with my life. I can not believe that I contacted you just a few hours after you left your mom’s house new years. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But I am so thankful that we have a friendship that we have always been able to pick up where we left off without feeling awkward. You are and always will be a dear friend. (I still just want to see you though)
Dear Lord,
Give me a few friends
who will love me for what I am,
and keep ever burning
before my vagrant steps
the kindly light of hope…
And though I come not within sight
of the castle of my dreams,
teach me to be thankful for life,
and for time’s olden memories
that are good and sweet.
And may the evening’s twilight
find me gentle still.

anonomous

Family members who no longer reside in the shadowlands but are in His glorious light!

Daddy Kent: I wish I could talk to you again. You were such a good example of being ok with being yourself. I am grateful for that example of healthy self confidence.I still love you and it encourages me to no end the knowledge that you were right with God and I will see you again. I just wish that my kids could have gotten to know you better. Apparently I also got my scattered headedness from you. I was just regretting today that I hadn’t taken one of your Bibles when you died and what did Ronan find today?? that”s right, you apparently mislaid one of your Bibles in my house a few years ago. God is good in giving us those little reminders on how much He loves us so much that He gives us reminders of our earthly family when they are needed.

Grandma Kaplan: You were right, third time was a charm! You had such a way of putting things. I just had to laugh. I will never forget that day that you and Bob just “happened to be in the neighborhood”, with flowers no less, on the first wedding anniversary after Tom had left. When you came out with “well Karen, 3rd time is a charm.. it worked for your Aunt Susie” it took everything in me not to burst out laughing.. but I knew your heart was true. You were just blunt, which I get from you I have been told. I miss you. You were the queen of hospitality and you loved your family with an intensity that I am just now beginning to understand.

Remembered Joy

Don’t grieve for me, for now I’m free!
I follow the plan God laid for me.
I saw His face, I heard His call,
I took His hand and left it all…
I could not stay another day,
To love, to laugh, to work or play;
Tasks left undone must stay that way.
And if my parting has left a void,
Then fill it with remembered joy.
A friendship shared, a laugh, a kiss…
Ah yes, these things I, too, shall miss.
My life’s been full, I’ve savoured much:
Good times, good friends, a loved-one’s touch.
Perhaps my time seemed all too briefโ€”
Don’t shorten yours with undue grief.
Be not burdened with tears of sorrow,
Enjoy the sunshine of the morrow.

anonomous

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2008 7:51 am

    I love you, friend. thank you for your sweet words. I am so glad we are back in each others’ lives. God is so good to give friendships that can stand the test of time and separation.

  2. February 22, 2008 3:46 pm

    I love the Remebered Joy poem…Thanks for sharing. BTW Thanks for your last comment. I am over it…Actually Mike is OK with it so I am honoring him by keeping my BIG mouth shut.

  3. February 22, 2008 9:02 pm

    He is a great God Laurie. I am so glad that I listened to the tug that He was giving me to get back in touch with you. Now not only do I have you back, but also a whole church family. YAY!

    Donna, I actually was thinking of you when I found that poem. I am glad that it meant something to you. ๐Ÿ™‚ btw i have problems with my big mouth too at times.. oh my ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

