Skip to content

Holy voices in my bed.

February 7, 2008

 Psalm 46:10

Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.

I will be the first to say that I don’t normally hear an audible voice when I speak with God.  Normally it is more of a sense of His being there or a prodding to read a certain scripture.  Yes I know that is Him speaking to me.  I am not refuting that at all and I am grateful.

This morning was different.  I have been wrestling with emotions this week.  As we all know, when we are drawing closer to our God other forces are trying fiercely to drive us away.  Old fears and resentments have been bubbling up.  I have been struggling.  While I was still laying in bed this morning fretting about my day I clearly heard “Be still and know that I am God”  I had the nerve to start protesting.. saying but I have to do A, B,& C.  He repeated strongly Be still and know that I am God!!”   He knows better than anyone my issues and there causes.  He is so loving that He reminded me this morning that He is worthy of that which I am so reluctant to give, My complete and utter trust.

How great is our God and how loving that He comes to each of us individually where we are.  He loves me more than an earthly father ever could., and I have a great Step-father.. he is my daddy.  But nothing compares with the love of our great Daddy God.

I praise you with every breath. when i feel no joy I turn to you with tears on my face. You comfort me, You scold me, You show me the path.  Thank you for letting me take steps on my own, but I trust you and know that You are there to catch me when I inevitably fall.  Just as my own children, I grow in confidence with You.  I love you Lord.


2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2008 6:08 pm

    AMEN!!!!

  2. February 8, 2008 4:09 pm

    Karen, it is so funny (well not really funny) that God spoke this verse audibly to you. He spoke the same way to me and the same verse 2 years ago (or was it 3 now?). I was lying in my bed the night before leaving for New Attitude (www.newattitude.com) and I heard his voice. My time at the conference was exactly that. He taught me how to be still and know that He is God!

Leave a Reply

