Skip to content

Blessings on a rainy day

February 1, 2008
I have been seeking and praying for the renewal of my mind. Funny how kids with colds and rainy days make me realize how much I need our God. Sunny days it is easy to rejoice in Him. Get me on a beach, even on a rainy day, and I will shout His name with joy. Today, I just need a little more help.
cross at st patricks
Romans 12:2
And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect.

Titus 3:5
He saved us, not on the basis of deeds which we have done in righteousness, but according to His mercy, by the washing of regeneration and renewing by the Holy Spirit,
These words from God really are speaking to me. I suffer from pride. I want to do things under my own power, not relinquishing control. I let worldly issues such as the cost of insurance upset me. In peril of being in a quagmire of self absorption. Keeping my eyes below not above. How great is our God that He doesn’t let me stagnate in these thoughts. He takes me by the shoulders, gives me a shake, and then a hug.
I am blessed.
Blessings: My family members are all healthy
I was able to get a benefits eligible position fairly quickly
Wonderful awesome friends!! (near and far)
Great natural family
Have started knitting myself and family back with a wonderful church family.
I have always had the Father drawing me close.
I think I will be grateful for the next rainy day. Curl up with my God during the kids naptime and just get to know Him better.
 
1 John 3:1
Consider this: The Father has given us his love. He loves us so much that we are actually called God’s dear children. And that’s what we are. For this reason the world doesn’t recognize us, and it didn’t recognize him either.
 
Dear Daddy God
I praise you and I love you. How amazing is it that you called me by name as your beloved daughter? I will never be able to comprehend how great your love is for me and all of your children. Tears are in my eyes as it sinks how truly great this gift is. Thank you for reminding me that I will never be worthy by my own rights but only through the gift of Jesus.
Help me to be a better example of your love to my husband and children. Please may we all grow closer to you.
I want to be “odd” in this world for You. May my coworkers, patients, friends and family see You and Your love clearly in me. Give me the strengh in the flesh to follow through with this that my spirit so desperately desires.
I love you Lord!!
Psalm 4 seems appropriate for where I am tonight. Bear with me please as I quote it now.
Evening Prayer of Trust in God.For the choir director; on stringed instruments. A Psalm of David.
1 Answer me when I call, O God of my righteousness!
You have relieved me in my distress;
Be gracious to me and hear my prayer.
2 O sons of men, how long will my honor become a reproach?
How long will you love what is worthless and aim at deception?Selah.
3 But know that the LORD has set apart the godly man for Himself;
The LORD hears when I call to Him.
4 Tremble, and do not sin;
Meditate in your heart upon your bed, and be still.
Selah.
5 Offer the sacrifices of righteousness,
And trust in the LORD.
6 Many are saying, “Who will show us
any good?”
Lift up the light of Your countenance upon us, O LORD!
7 You have put gladness in my heart,
More than when their grain and new wine abound.
8 In peace I will both lie down and sleep,
For You alone, O LORD, make me to dwell in safety.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2008 10:54 pm

    Karen
    Thanks for your humility and honest heart in this post. Also thanks for the reminger of God’s love for us, His children,. This was great…
    Love
    Donna

  2. February 2, 2008 8:36 am

    Thank you for sharing your heart, Karen. Love you.

  3. February 9, 2008 2:28 pm

    I love you guys. I am blessed that you read my post. 🙂

    I am finding blogging very therapeutic. My hope is the God uses little flawed me to draw someone closer to Him.

Leave a Reply

