Skip to content

Isn’t the prayer of the faithful sustaining?

January 24, 2008

tommy at stonehenge

That’s my beautiful, nearly 11, oldest son Tommy. Last night he had a pretty bad nose bleed and today he woke up with a petechiae rash (red pinpoint and some smeary dots) all over his body. Molly-Ann had her 1 year appointment with Dr Dannenfelser anyway so I brought him along. The doctor saw both of them. (thank you Dr!!) He ordered for Tommy to have bloodwork this morning to rule out any platelet disorders. We should have the lab results tomorrow. It might be nothing, but you always rule out the big stuff before you move down to the smaller stuff that could be wrong. Must admit that I am a little scared but I know that Tommy will be ok. The more prayers to cover him though the better in my opinion. Thank you guys!!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2008 3:19 pm

    Karen
    I am praying right now. Please let us know what the results are of his bllod work…
    Donna

  2. January 24, 2008 4:24 pm

    I just got off the phone with Dr D. Malignancy is obviously the worst case scenario, but he says the possibility of that is very low. More likely scenario is ITP, which in it’s mild form is self limiting and would need no intervention. I thank God (literally) that I have a pediatrician with a great bedside manner who is willing to explain things to me. Obviously, we are not out of the woods yet, but I feel more hopeful.

    Donna, thank you for your prayers. They are needed and appreciated. we will know more tomorrow when the labs come back. I will update everyone here when I know more.

    Thank you for covering my son with your prayers

  3. Shannon permalink
    January 24, 2008 10:46 pm

    What exactly is ITP? I should probably just google it, but you’ll probably explain it much better. If you or Tommy need anything, just let me know. I’ll have my mother put him on her prayer tree. I’m sure he’ll be fine though. He’s a tough little bugger, and far too stubborn to get sick!

  4. January 25, 2008 1:22 am

    He got the rash suddenly? Any other symptoms? Has he been bitten or exposed to a sick person with this kind of outbreak?

  5. January 25, 2008 7:42 am

    He just woke up with the petechial rash yesterday. only other symptom was that he had the bloody nose the night before. (those two combined is why the Dr and I suspect the possibility of platelet dysfunction)

    He has had no know bites or exposure to anyone with this kind of rash. He is afebrile, no fever, no stiff neck, no malaise.. he is acting his normal self. He is my little mystery. I am hoping that they call us early with the lab results so that we have an answer to this riddle.

    I will update here when we know what we are dealing with. Right now i am just praying and waiting. Thank you all who have joined in the prayers.

Trackbacks

  1. Pages tagged "faithful"

Leave a Reply

