Skip to content

God’s Grace

January 14, 2008

Last night I was drawn to Psalm 32 while I was having a quiet time. (the kids were asleep and my husband was “baby sitting” my grandparents. use the time He gives you, right?)

Psalm 32 >>
American Standard Version
 

1 Blessed is he whose transgression is forgiven, Whose sin is covered. 2 Blessed is the man unto whom Jehovah imputeth not iniquity, And in whose spirit there is no guile.3 When I kept silence, my bones wasted away Through my groaning all the day long.4 For day and night thy hand was heavy upon me: My moisture was changed as with the drought of summer. Selah5 I acknowledged my sin unto thee, And mine iniquity did I not hide: I said, I will confess my transgressions unto Jehovah; And thou forgavest the iniquity of my sin. Selah6 For this let every one that is godly pray unto thee in a time when thou mayest be found: Surely when the great waters overflow they shall not reach unto him.7 Thou art my hiding-place; thou wilt preserve me from trouble; Thou wilt compass me about with songs of deliverance. Selah8 I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go: I will counsel thee with mine eye upon thee.9 Be ye not as the horse, or as the mule, which have no understanding; Whose trappings must be bit and bridle to hold them in, Else they will not come near unto thee.10 Many sorrows shall be to the wicked; But he that trusteth in Jehovah, lovingkindness shall compass him about.11 Be glad in Jehovah, and rejoice, ye righteous; And shout for joy, all ye that are upright in heart.



These verses really spoke to me, especially in conjunction with Jimmy’s sermon on Sunday. It is easy for me to hold on to my sins. Dwell on them. Not wanting to repeat them, but not letting them go either. Between my reading and his sermon I realized that I need to shut the door on the sin. It was done, it has been forgiven, now move on. God doesn’t want me to dwell on the past. He wants me to move forward in His Grace and Love. The Devil delights in having the forgiven be mired in self doubt & guilt. I was also convicted that not only was I not giving God my whole self by this, but my husband and children were also suffering. By my saying if I had only done or not done this in my life, I was not allowing my present life be full and productive for my family.

Thank you Father for your righteous words. I strive to grow and to be the wife & mother that will glorify you.

I couldn’t resist adding this picture of Tommy and Malachy in front of St Patrick’s abbey in Co. Mayo Ireland (august 2007)

england-ireland-trip-august-2007-352.jpg

or this picture of Molly-Ann at our picnic at Stonehenge!! 🙂
just a normal place to take a picnic

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

