Skip to content

hello pals

July 16, 2010

It has been a busy summer in Sharkey land. Between baseball, swimming, fireflies and fireworks, it has been hard to fit in anything else.
But fit in something else I have. My husband and I decided that now would be a good time for me to go back to college. I have my associates in science of nursing (RN) but I am now back to get my bachelors of science in nursing. Very exciting. I am just now finishing my first course. God has been gracious to me indeed.
After more than 8 years away from collegiate life, His grace has been more than apparent in my gradebook. He has also reminded me of Ecclesiastes 12:11-13 (English Standard Version)

11 The words of the wise are like goads, and like nails firmly fixed are the collected sayings; they are given by one Shepherd. 12My son, beware of anything beyond these. Of making many books there is no end, and much study is a weariness of the flesh. 13The end of the matter; all has been heard. Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the whole duty of man.

To me this reminds me that while I am to be a good steward to the gift of intellect that God has blessed me with, that is not where my focus should lie. I am to be grateful for His gifts for me and keep my eyes on Him throughout this process and beyond.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 4, 2011 8:49 am

    Hello Karen!
    You wrote: “Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the whole duty of man.”

    This is indeed correct!
    Different religions have different opinions about what those directives constitute.

    Since you are a Christian, it will be beneficial for you to know that the historical Jewish Mashiakh [‘Messiah’] called Rabbi Y’hoshua didn’t teach the NT; and that NT contains many redactions [Documentation: Link]. Neither his followers called the Netzarim taught the NT. Documentation is found on the website www (dot) netzarim (dot) co (dot) il

    He taught that the only way according to Torah [“the books of Moses”] to follow the Creator is by doing ones utmost to keep the directives of Torah non-selectively.

    Following the human Mashiakh [Jewish Messiah] called Yehoshua leads oneself into non-selectively Torah-observance to ones utmost, including an immensely meaningful relationship with the Creator.

    I wish you all the best and hope that you will adapt and start following the Creator according to the way He has commanded us in His Torah.

    Anders Branderud

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

