Skip to content

Biggest Loser, perhaps 8 months and counting.

January 7, 2010

Eight months down and a lifetime to go.  Funny how as normal human beings we are always looking for a quick fix for our problems with minimal effort on our part.  Tend to not want to take personal responsibility for where we have come nor in the solution.  We prefer a quick pill, tonic, or a wonder diet that will shed unwanted pounds in 2 weeks like magic.  I am sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but there is no such animal.  sure, it can work for the short term but in most cases you will gain what you have lost and then some.  Funny how life is like that, any time we go for the quick fix in life, we get spanked.   Real solutions take time, patience, hard work, and a lot of leaning on God.   Personally I know that my journey into self control will not be over when I reach that magic goal weight,  I am in this for a lifetime.  Praise God that He is able to carry me through some (most ;) ) days!

I will have my honey take a picture in a few days to post.. but for now.. drum roll please ;)

Vital Statistics January 7,2010:

5 foot 6 inches tall 186.1 pounds (13stone 4.1 lb or 84.4kilos) which is a total loss of 52.7 pounds (3st 10.7 pound or 23.9 kilos)

I am pleased to note that, with God’s grace, I was even able to lose 4 lbs over the holiday season.   Now, I don’t want to give the impression that I have this whole dieting thing  wrapped up and tied with a beautiful bow.  Honestly, I still struggle with self control over food.  Actually, self control is the problem.  I struggle with giving God his rightful control over my life.  Thankfully He is good and gracious and is there when I call out in prayer when I am about to dive in to a tin of chocolate covered yumminess.  He reminds me that His LOVE IS ENOUGH and that I don’t need a yummy to feel good about who I am.    Being that I can be kind of a slow learner, good thing He doesn’t mind a little repetition in reminding me of that gem of wisdom!!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2010 9:20 am

    I love this post! I love your humility, your example of perseverance, and your ability to point us to God. Love love love it. I’m so proud of you, my beautiful friend.

    • January 8, 2010 10:05 am

      methinks you see me through the rosey glasses of friendship, but I love it and I love you! Thank you for your kind words of encouragement.

  2. Kjirstin permalink
    January 8, 2010 1:34 pm

    Karen, you are such an inspiration to me!! As I am (once again) entering this journey of determination to finally lose these last 30 lbs., it is wonderful to have someone to look towards that has let God make those changes in their life! Thank you for being that person. I look forward to walking this part of the journey with you.

    • January 8, 2010 1:41 pm

      I think that God will bless this journey for you as he has mine. My prayer is that we have a lot of fun along with a ton of growth! errr.. odd phrasing I suppose when we are still losing weight ;)

  3. January 9, 2010 4:13 pm

    Totally inspiring.

    BTW, I dare you to put on that same tank top/capri outift you had on for your previous weight-loss pics. C’mon, it’s only 22 balmy degrees out there with a wind chill factor of MINUS CAN’T COUNT THAT LOW!

  4. January 12, 2010 3:23 pm

    done and done.. i would only do this for you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

